BTIA Holds 31st Annual General Meeting



December 5th, 2016



 The Belize Tourism Industry Association (BTIA) hosted its 31st Annual General Meeting on 1 December 2016 at the Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza.  The membership and stakeholders were informed about the achievements of the Association for the 2015/16 fiscal year and upcoming plans and projects for 2017.  The Association also held elections for the posts of President and First-Vice President.

The AGM was well attended by BTIA members, including Board Members, Destination Chairs, Sector Representatives, stakeholders and invited guests from both the private and public sectors.  Main speakers included Keynote Speaker Mr. Nikita Usher, President of the Belize Chamber Commerce and Industry, and BTIA President, Mr. Osmany Salas.

Mr. Osmany Salas was re-elected as President and Mr. Raeneldo Guerrero was elected as the First-Vice President for the 2016-2018 term.

In the President’s Remarks, Mr. Osmany Salas stated that: “We must prepare to make the International Year of Sustainable Tourism for Development meaningful for us, by becoming even more determined to work together to influence the path that our industry will take – one that advances the contribution of tourism to ensure that our country and people benefit economically and socially, while not undermining the very natural and cultural resources and attractions that are the foundations of our tourism product.” Read entire speech

Keynote Speaker, Mr. Nikita Usher, focused on the current issues affecting the economy and the importance of private sector involvement with Government to find the best possible solutions to move the tourism industry and Belize forward.  Mr. Usher noted that:”We all live in this wonderful country and are proud to show her off to our visitors.  Now we must all work together to create the growth we need that will enable our people to benefit even more, and for those benefits to be felt throughout all levels of the economy and for generations to come.  This is no easy task, but you who built this dynamic industry from scratch have shown us the path, and we hope you will continue to walk it with us in the name of sustainable development.” Read entire speech 

The BTIA acknowledged its Diamond, Platinum and Gold Sponsors for their contributions and continuous support to the Association in 2015/16.  Each Destination Chapter Chair was also recognized for their commitment to the works and efforts of the Association within their destination and nationally.


The Executive Committee for 2017:

President                     Osmany Salas

1st Vice-President       Raineldo Guerrero

2nd Vice-President      Stewart Krohn

Treasurer                     Pedro Perez

Secretary                     Mike Green

Chapter Rep               Jodie Yearwood Leslie


The BTIA Destination Chapter Chairs for 2017:

Corozal Valentine Rosado Cayo Roberto Harrison
Orange Walk Randy Jones Dangriga Roselia Zabanneh
Ambergris Caye Tamara Sniffin Hopkins Damian Grieco
Caye Caulker Stacy Badillo Placencia Jodie Yearwood
City of Belmopan Sally  Thackery Punta Gorda Tim Sise


National Secretariat

Belize Tourism Industry Association


Tel: 227-1144


To view full album of AGM pictures please click here.